Mention No Waste Wednesdays at the Saskatoon Farmers’ Market and save 10% on your purchase!

29 Sep

Happy Wednesday folks!  Today we have another guest blogger with us, I’ll let her introduce herself:

My name is Tammy Bessant and I am the owner and creator of EarthWear Face & Body Products located in North Battleford, Saskatchewan, and I am honoured to be a guest for the No Waste Wednesdays Blog.

What a great focus this month, beauty products and hygiene.  We can “choose” what we put on our bodies, let’s do our best to make that a healthy choice.

Eliminating toxins and chemicals from your morning routine is better for you and the environment.  We have been lead to believe that we need bubbles and harsh scrubs to be clean and beautiful…but, we have never been told (until now) how bad the ingredients in these products are for our health.  Besides irritating and drying the skin, they can slowly cause serious damage to the inside of our bodies.

According to Health Canada, if you are a manufacturer of a cosmetic product you are not required to list ingredients that make up less than 1% of your product. That could be anything, even though there is less than 1% of that toxic ingredient in the product….doesn’t make it NON – toxic.  This is one of the many benefits of making your own products, or buying directly from someone who does.  You don’t have to worry about “disguise” names on the ingredients list or what is not listed at all.  (EarthWear Products have 100% of their ingredients listed on the packaging.)

I started making my own face and body product when I realized how hard a truly natural product was to find. I started getting acne when I was in my twenties and my dermatologist could not tell me why, but continued to give me prescriptions which would work until I stopped taking them.  Not impressed with the thought of being on acne medication for the rest of my life, I stopped taking them and started looking at “why” my skin was doing this.  I changed my diet (eliminated sugar, yeast, vinegars, and alcohols) and started paying attention to what I was using on my skin.  I started using a line that was very recognized, very expensive and advertised that it was all natural.  As time passed, I continued to research a non toxic lifestyle and found that my “All Natural” face products were not natural at all and contained the ingredients that I thought I was avoiding. (Note here, that I still had acne.)  That was my lesson in making it my responsibility to know what was in the products I was using.  So, I started making my own.  I had thought about it before, but was never ready to do it…now, was the time.  The first two things I made were a face cleanser and a face moisturizer.  I still remember the first morning I woke up and washed my face with my cleanser and put on my face lotion….I think I let out a sigh of pleasure! I was so excited. I told my friends and family about it and soon after I was making cleanser and lotion for strangers.

That is how EarthWear Face & Body Products began, and I am just as excited about it today as I was then.  The thought that I know exactly what is in my products gives me so much comfort and what a joy it is to be able to share that with my customers.

Mention No Waste Wednesdays at the Farmers’ Market and save 10% on your purchase at EarthWear (that’s no tax!)

I wish you all the best in your venture eliminating toxins from your lifestyle.  It is your responsibility to “Know What You are Wearing “

Tammy Bessant

EarthWear Face & Body Products

Leave a Reply

